PAINTINGS – RICHARD PEARSE


Richard Pearse is a New Zealand artist that has a very nice unique style. I really like the ‘rustic’ look his work has. He combines different types of materials, techniques, patterns and colours in one ‘painting’….if these can be called paintings! Because to be honest they are much more than that!

They also come as part of a series…for example the ‘YES & NO’ series is below. Very nice indeed!

Richard Pearse - NZ

YES

&

NO

Richard says:
“I am a big fan of Robert Rauschenberg and his ability to take items that were lying around and turn them into lush pieces of artwork. I was always very moved by how beautiful something made up of such mundane and throw away items could look when placed together with consideration.

My art is really heavily influenced by the music I’m inspired by and attempting to create. I think about music in terms of loud and quiet colors, textures and patterns, and to me a lot of these pieces are interpretations of songs or parts of songs. Songs are made up of a series of interlocking pieces that work well together and this is what I try to create with my art.”

Leave a Reply

