JEREMYVILLE ILLUSTRATIONS


I’m quite sure Jeremyville is one of the most famous illustrators coming from Australia. His drawings are great and unique. He does posters, t shirts, shoes, and in fact any type of print medium you can think of. They are great! Take a look at them.

Jeremyville:
“While I was at uni I was the editor of the Honi Soit student newspaper, and to fill in the articles I wrote, I drew small cartoons to fill the spaces. One day I collected a pile of my Honi Soit issues, went along to the Sydney Morning Herald, saw John Sandeman and he gave me some freelance work to draw at the Herald. I was around 19. So I started going in to the art department at the Herald while still at uni, and that’s how my career in art began. I never went to art school. I still have a daily love of architecture and interiors. I have never practiced as an architect though. I might design a house in the future. I’m influenced by spaces, interiors, the experience of the built form. It’s funny how I now work mainly in 2D, because I’ve always thought more in 3D.”

“My father was the captain of a large oil tanker for Shell Oil, which is pretty far removed from a career in art!,” Jeremy describes of his parental influence. “I didn’t really grow up surrounded by art. My mum was a teacher though, and she used to draw lovely rudimentary drawings for her kids in class, so I think I picked it up from her. I also have a published painting of hers which she made when she was 14 I think, of a mother holding a child in her arms. I like to think that was the first nascent portrait of her and me. I still have that clipping of her painting from the newspaper.”

“I’m in Sydney for a short while, then back to New York. It’s not a fixed schedule, I travel when I need to, mainly to work on big campaigns or projects with clients over there. For example, right now I’m working on a 32-piece range of products with a big company based in New York and Tokyo, so I might leave soon to sight the final samples in New York. Their offices are in the Empire State Building, which is pretty cool.”

“I don’t really differentiate a job for a client with say a work to be shown in an art show, or a sketch I draw late at night. It’s all Jeremyville. I bring the same level of passion and integrity into my so-called commercial work as I do for my own projects. I couldn’t work on projects with any diminished sense of integrity; that’s just not me. I don’t really take on jobs purely for the money only, as they are generally not jobs I enjoy. I need to be super excited by the project to take it on. Luckily in my career I’m now in a position to be able to choose the jobs I take on. Even when I was starting out actually, I turned down several client jobs for clients or products I didn’t really believe in.”

“To be honest I mainly think about all the new challenges I want to take on, and the projects I want to do, plus the day to day workload. I don’t like thinking of any past failures or successes. Having the Bondi Beach Studio gives me the headspace to see things more rationally, and in a more relaxed framework. I never really knew a career in art such as I have was possible; it has been a very organic process. No one handed me the road map of how to achieve it. And I’m still really inventing my own road map – I don’t really look to one artist to emulate or follow, it’s more intuitive than that. I do love the career trajectories of certain artists though, like Warhol, Koons, Murakami, Hirst, Banksy, Fairey. There is definitely a common thread in all those artists if you look for it. I identify myself with that similar spirit of art and commerce. The key is to be different, and to offer something that no one else offers.”

“Definitely develop your own voice, work at understanding what sort of an artist/creative you are, and then go out and find a market for that. Offer what no one else offers – that is the key I think. Be prepared for a long road ahead. If you take a regular job while you work on your art career, chances are that regular job will soon become your career. You need to jump in the deep end if you want to work for yourself, and make a career from your passion. But only once you’ve found there is a need for what you offer, that you indeed have talent, and that you offer something unique.”

“That’s some humble advice that I’ve learnt, but after reading it, put it aside and find your own way forward, and find your own answers…that is the most rewarding way to do it.”

via sidestreetsydney

via artsprojekt

Leave a Reply

